Newly aquired 1979 CB 650 project

Please post your bike pics here

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

Ruckryder

Newly aquired 1979 CB 650 project

Postby Ruckryder » Sun Sep 11, 2011 6:27 pm

I just picked up this non running bike project , my previous bikes were 1948 H-D rigid panhead , 1983 450 Nighthawk , 2005 Honda Nps60 , and numerous dirt bikes . I'm a new motorcycle tech graduated last year , my last job of 33 years closed shop so I applied to retrain and motorcycles and scooters are my passion . Image
The puchase price was $850 CAN. it has new tires , front and rear chain sprockets along with a new chain .
It was only firing on the 3-4 cylinders , so with the cam covers off only half the cam was turning , ugh snapped cam , digging further , found no lubrication on the right side . The head , cam cover , and cam all need to be replaced ( rightside journals are beat to crap ). I'll have to work my way down to the oil pump and see if there's a oil gallery blockage .
So this is the point where I am now . Cheers guys & I hope you don't mind me picking your brains about interchangable parts etc . I love this bike and hope to get it all sorted out before next spring .
" Don’t be discouraged, because every wrong attempt discarded is another step forward." ~ Unknown

Volker_P

Re: Newly aquired 1979 CB 650 project

Postby Volker_P » Mon Sep 12, 2011 5:25 am

Welcome here! :D

nice 1979. Note that most 79 parts except engine are a bit different from the standard and custom models. European Z-models are more similar to 79's. Snapped cam sounds strange, never heard of that before. Note that 1981 on heads have different intake spacing to fit the CV carbs. There are also 50hp camshafts around, but hardly outside Europe. Nevertheless you may want to check that you get asymmetric ~36mm lobes insted of only 33mm symmeric ones.

Black head cover and cylinders may be a hint that here parts of a 1982SC were used.