building a chopper

General motorcycle conversation

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

geor3594

building a chopper

Postby geor3594 » Thu Dec 11, 2008 11:41 pm

Hi Guys im new to motorcycle mechanics and I had some question for people that know something about choppers. My main question is when you buy a frame for your chopper how much does that influence your chopper ? as far as types of engines to put in the frame/ gas tank/ front forks/ seat.

you can e-mail me at geor3594@fredonia.edu if you feel like educating someone on choppers. or post if you dont.

Thanks !

Volker_P

Re: building a chopper

Postby Volker_P » Fri Dec 12, 2008 3:03 am

Welcome here! :D
The frame is quite important as the engine often is part of it and provides the required stiffness at the mounting points. So basically it is a good idea to use the frame to the engine one likes to use.
But I am no chopper guy, I think there are a few here, but e.g. at SOHC.net there are many guys with CB 4cyl. chopper projects that can help you.
BTW, if you are really new to motorcycle mechanics, it is not really straightforward to start with a self-made composition. Like everywhere, some experience is required to get ahead reasonably. Don't expect to have much fun from an effort by yourself just with support from some forum. You need one or more experts that you can ask and look how they work and that occasionally sit around your bike and discuss what is possible and how one might like to proceed.
One should also note hat most choppers are hard to ride and are mainly created for the look and the fun of playing around with ideas and parts.
So this should be what you are looking for. :wink:
Cosky's great (free) online manual: http://cosky0.tripod.com

forum links to common technical issues

If you really like this site and you would not like to see it vanish soon, have a look there: Urgent: Future of HondaCB650.com Forum

Chris

Postby Chris » Fri Dec 12, 2008 8:49 pm