drum brake

General motorcycle conversation

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

saber

drum brake

Postby saber » Sun Mar 03, 2013 6:48 pm

Newbie here. I have a 1979 CB650 that I owned for 20 years that has been sitting in my garage for the last 8 years. Decided to get it back on the road. Tank looks clean so I got a new battery and started the bike. Got gas from 3 carb drains so let it set. Tried to start it again a week later and got lucky. The carb overflows were dry and it actually started and idled ok with the choke on. The 650 has 9100 miles on it. Here is my question. The drive chain was loose so I adjusted the tension by 2 notches. Since the rear wheel was moved back what do I need to do to check and maybe adjust the rear drum brake? I have to admit this forum is really helpful.

Mainerider

Re: drum brake

Postby Mainerider » Sun Mar 03, 2013 7:13 pm

You're probably fine but it is still a good idea to check everything after a bike has sat for that long. Put it in neutral and up on the centerstand and turn the key on. First, make sure your brake light activates shortly after the brake pedal begins its downward path.

Next, spin the wheel by hand and slowly apply brake pressure; braking should be smooth, progressive and linear. When fully applied, your panel brake arm and the brake rod linkage that connects to it should form a roughly 70-90 degree angle. I believe the '79 also had the brake lining wear indicator pointer at the top of the panel brake arm, so you can check that also but with 9,000 miles they should be okay.

Just remember, your front brake is by far the more effective brake and after sitting so long it should absolutely have the fluid bled and replaced, at a bare minimum. Braake fluid is hygroscopic ( collects moisture from the atmosphere) and is undoubtedly contaminated by now. Water settles at the lowest spot so most of it will be sitting in your brake caliper, rusting and pitting your piston and cylinder (and perhaps seizing it). Not good...