new member with a 80 cb850

General motorcycle conversation

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

simple1

new member with a 80 cb850

Postby simple1 » Mon Jun 10, 2013 10:19 pm

Hi All,

I am a new member with 1980 Honda cb650 that i acquired earlier this year. I've ridden the CB for approx 2000 miles only but I have been riding for the past 15 years, starting with a yamaha rd150, suzuki 89 gs550, honda 81 cm400, suzuki 82 gs1100ez (red), 82 gs850L , 82 gs1100ez (champagne) and now the CB.

From the very few bikes that i have owned, the 82 gs1100ez is definitely my favorite. I learnt alot from those 80s suzuki bikes that i have applied to the CB.

I am the 3rd owner of this CB with 2nd owner only owning it for less than 2 years. When i got it, it ran ok. I performed the regular maintenance items, spark plugs, seafoam/b12, airbox cover mod, 35w headlight bulb and it is running nice but has room for improvement. I have to use the choke for the first 10 minutes or so after that its good no choke needed.

Spark plugs - it was a pain finding the tool to remove the spark plugs! It came to me eventually; just use a socket that fits in the slot and then dremel the insides to fit the spark plug. duh!!

seafoam - this is the real deal. got the spray kind and went to town by spraying it in the carb. It was smokey alright but makes a difference for sure.(do the spark plugs after seafoam )

B12 chemtool - I didn't take the carbs off, just ran 5-8 tanks with lots of b12. carbs are clean.

Airbox cover mod - i read about this mod, went to TAP Plastics, had them cut me a 7x7 Black ABS sheet and then dremeled the sheet with the airbox cover as a guide. This is the best thing i did to this bike. It goes all the way to red line with no issues which was not the case when i got it, it stumbled at ~5k rpms usually.

Ignitors - replaced the oems with the electosport ones, made it run smoother.