Tires

If it's broken or just needs tweaked

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

Chris

Tires

Postby Chris » Mon Mar 26, 2007 12:48 am

I'm going to have to replace at least my rear tire before the year ends. Being a newbie, I've never purchased a motorcycle tire before. I've thought about it for a while now and I've decided that safety being my highest priority, I think I need something that sticks to the road and has adequate channels for dispersing water as I tend to get caught in the rain on my commute. I ride on asphalt mostly. I think I'd rather have a soft/sticky tire than a hard one that will last forever.

The one that came on my bike from the PO is a Kenda... 'Challenger' I believe. I haven't had any real issues with it except that the treads don't cross the center to help draw water away from it. Instead it only has(had) an abreviated groove down the centerline like (-- -- -- -- -- -) that has since worn away to leave the tire bald down the center. My mechanic assures me that there's plenty of wear left in it, but I don't like the idea of riding on a 'slick'... especially in the rain. The grooves are still plenty deep on each side of the center.

Does anyone have any preferences/suggestions?

Thanks.
1980 CB650c

Volker_P

Re: tires

Postby Volker_P » Mon Mar 26, 2007 1:53 am

If you do not consider going at high speeds in the rain, you do not need to many grooves at rear. In contrast to current motorcycles, the CB has quite narrow tires for its weigth and I guess you will have problems to get it "swimming" with slicks at all.
Besided the grooves the age of the tire plays a significant role in rain. As the tire temperature is lower at wet roads, the traction is reduced. I would guess about 7 years are a reasonable limit for motorcycle tires.