My riding gear, if anyone is interested

Get some new gear

Moderators: Volker_P, tidd650

nickjtc

My riding gear, if anyone is interested

Postby nickjtc » Fri Jul 21, 2006 10:49 am

I'm always curious to see what other riders wear, and how it compares to my stuff. Until the end of last summer I was a riding instructor, and so spent a lot of time on the bike. Being of the "I'd rather sweat than bleed" mentality I always ride in full motorcycle specific gear, whatever the weather....and it gets up to the high 30's c hereabouts in the summer!

From the top:

Full face helmet, ALWAYS. Either a Bell fixed front or (if I'm instructing) a HJC flip-up. Earplugs on all highway rides.

Either, Teknik synthethic jacket and pants, with appropriate 'armour', or First Gear one-piece leathers. Depends on my mood and where I am going. Got the leathers at the Vancouver Bike Show for a stonking deal: $300, with a recommended retail of $900.

If it is really cold I wrap a thin scarf (which I've had for 30+years) around my neck to keep the draughts out.

Electric vest for the early spring or late summer rides.

Gauntlet-type summer waterproof synthetic or elkskin roper gloves.

Sidi, 'On Road' boots. Waterproof but breathable. I've had them resoled once and they've done over 100,000km. Very comfortable for walking or standing on a hot parking lot all day. They have never leaked, even in the most torrential downpours.

I use inexpensive waterproof jackets/pants, that pack up small in the tank bag.

I only discovered heat late in my riding career and am amazed at how much nicer riding is when you are not clamped to the bike in paroxisms of hypothermia. Hence the electric vest. I like to have heated grips on my bike, too, but haven't fitted them to the 650 yet.
.....to be myself, a pattern for others.

1979 CB650
1971 Norton Commando
1968 CB175

Ibsen

Postby Ibsen » Fri Jul 21, 2006 11:42 am